Lattice Top Baked Fruit Pie

7 Jul

This is my go-to pie. It’s cheap, quick, easy, inordinately impressive to people who don’t understand the level of skill required, … so all my favorite things basically.

I mess around a lot with recipes. I start with a basic recipe than jazz it up. This can be a recipe for a Blueberry pie, or a Cherry Strawberry Plum with Grapefruit Juice pie. It works for almost all fruit, with a little seasoning switches. If you’re making apple or peach pie, throw in cinnamon and cardamom

Basic Fruit Pie Filling

  • 4 cups of any fruit *
  • 1 Tablespoon flour
  • 1 egg
  • 2 Tablespoons melted butter**
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • a squirt of lemon or lime juice ***
  • 1 Tablespoon sugar****

Shove the whole shbang into the delicious pie crust seen here and, should it be your druthers, cover the top with either strips of crust or just a whole ‘nother crust with some oh-so-trendy fork holes punched into it.

Bake at 450o degrees for 45 minutes to an hour. It’s ready when you look in the oven and you’re overwhelmed by the readiness (aka the crust is golden). Let it sit and cool on a wire rack for just longer than you have the patience to do so.

*I generally use a frozen berry mix

** can be margarine for those of you who eschew dairy

***I tend to use lemon for an only blueberry pie, and lime for everything else, but the taste is so vague after baking that just some sort of citrus is key. I’ve made it with a dash of grapefruit juice before

****This is my default amount for berries, since I always want them a tiny bit sweeter than they come frozen. If you’re using fresh sweet berries, maybe just a dash of sugar. All frozen tart berries, or plums or something else tart, I’d go up to 2 Tablespoons sugar

One Response to “Lattice Top Baked Fruit Pie”

  1. Doctor Pie August 1, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    I found the pie crust to be really easy and extremely flaky. I probably should have chilled it before handling – that probably would have made it a bit more durable. It turned out pretty well anyway.

    The filling recipe worked well for me. I made a bumbleberry mixture of what I had on hand – strawberry, blueberry, blackberry, plus some rhubarb from the garden. it held together well and didn’t get overly goopy. I baked it in a glass pie pan – same duration but only 425.

    Here is a picture of the final result. http://i.imgur.com/tNE0B.jpg

    Thanks for the recipes Heather! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

