Hummus

30 Jul

I got a food processor from the local senior center thrift store for $7 the other day. I ❤ cheap kitchen appliances and thus am desperately in love with the 2 actually cheap thrift stores in my neighborhood (as opposed to the many expensive and posh consignment places).

So what was my inaugural food processing? HUMMUS. I’m not usually a fan of hummus that other people make, I’m not a huge tahini person, so I make mine without it. You can make yours with it, either way, hummus it the fastest cheapest healthiest most superlative inducing thing evah.

Hummus

  • 1 teaspoon tahini (you can use up to 1/3c or even more if you’re more of a fan of that flavor than I am).
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil (I like mine thicker thus less oil)
  • 2 Tablespoons lemon juice (lime works too, but you can really taste the difference)
  • 2 cans of chickpeas, drained
  • 2 Tablespoons water
  • 1/2 c onion, chopped (but who cares it’s going into a processor)
  • 5 gloves of garlic
  • paprika
  • salt/pepper

Because my food processor is fairly mini, and I’m lazy, I usually throw in the garlic, onion and spices first so that it’ll chop it up for me, then put everything else in.

I also tend to throw in some Lawry’s Season Salt, but I do that with everything.

 

 

 

La voila:

Try using something nifty for a hummus vehicle, like veggies or wheat thins!

I make mine with half chick peas, half edamame sometimes. Just half the amount of chickpeas and throw in an equal amount of cooked cooled edamame. And maybe a little avocado.

 

ALSO, do yourself a favor and visit this man right here, he makes a damn good pizza. And for that matter, a damn good everything else.  When our internet went out the other day and we were left with steak and no guidance, he was my Dial-A-Chef.  Suffice to say, he knows what he’s talking about.

Leave a Reply

