Japchae

12 Aug

I love japchae. It all started because of these guys. Gushi in Westwood and their giant plate of noodles over rice, when I worked in the area, it was my favorite. A special treat for bad days.

I basically love all noodles. But korean glass noodles. OMG. I’d basically despaired of finding an adequate replacement fix in Seattle but then we found dried glass noodles at Uwajimaya. Yaaaaay. We also have started getting these like $3 deli vats of fresh pickled ginger. I go through them so quickly. I stand in the kitchen in front of the fridge eating ginger with a fork. It’s not pretty.

ANYWAY

So I went on a noodle quest to recreate my beloved japchae and ended up with this:

Japchae with Portobello and Steak

  • glass noodles
  • 1/2lb thinly sliced beef of some sort. I bought a $3.41 pack of “thin sliced” whatever it was and only used half for the whole vat of noodles, you could use more though.
  • 2 Tablespoons green onions
  • 2 Tablespoons soy sauce
  • about a cup of water
  • 2 decent squirts of sriracha
  • 1/4 of an onion, I used a red onion
  • 2 carrots, finely sliced
  • 1 portobello mushroom, sliced
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 5 or 6 big leaves of spinach, sliced
  • sesame oil
  • sesame seeds

Boil water, throw in glass noodles, wait 6 minutes, immediately rinse under cold water until room temperature. Sprinkle with sesame oil. Set aside.

Mix soy, water, sriracha, green onions, and beef. Let marinade for a bit (I only left it for about 20ish minutes

DSC_1561DSC_1563

Then sliced up your carrots and onion. Sauté on medium-high heat until onions get clear and carrots are firm but cooked

DSC_1564DSC_1565

Meanwhile, chop up garlic, mushroom and spinach.DSC_1567

Add mushroom and garlic to the carrots and onionsDSC_1569

after the mushroom starts to cook a little, maybe 2 minutes, throw in the steak with the sauce and green onions. DSC_1571

Sauté another minute, then throw in noodles and finish when steak is cooked through. Top with copious sesame seeds. Nom.

DSC_1572DSC_1573

2 Responses to “Japchae”

  1. David R August 12, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    Your addiction to pickled ginger won’t reach its deepest point until you stand in front of the open refrigerator, digging into the jar with your fingers. When the craving strikes, decorum and forks are flung aside.

    The need consumes me still.

    Sometimes I wonder, Heather, if delicious pickled ginger is our universe’s equivalent of Spice, from Dune.

    • Heather - Minimum Wage Hedonist August 12, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

      It burns the inevitable papercuts I didn’t know I had when I do that.

      I may have gone through this increment of it in mere days.

Leave a Reply

