Edamame Pesto Artichoke Heart Calzones

13 Aug

DSC_1505

Sometimes the universe communicates with me in the form of Safeway sales. Like having pre-made pizza dough for $.99, frozen edamame for $2, and artichoke hearts for like $1.50 a can all on sale the same day. Clearly calzones are the one and only answer.

 

Okay, so I’m kind of embarrassed I didn’t make the dough from scratch but having premade stuff on sale for $.99 motivated me to make calzones way more than… anything since I realized it was a feasible option. So, at least I ended up with calzone.

I’ve had this man’s pizza dough and I assure you, it’s totally worth the relatively small effort. Be stronger than me people, make your own.

ANYWAY

I made this pesto riff up as I went. It came out impressively well.

Edamame Pesto

  • 2 to 3 Tablespoons pine nuts
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 Tablespoon dried basil (or fresh basil if you have it on hand)
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 1/2 cup edamame (if frozen, cook before and have them reasonable cool)
  • 2 teaspoons seeds
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic vinegar (or more garlic and some sort of vinegar, white wine or seasoned rice wine would be best)
  • 4ish Tablespoons olive oil

Because my food processor is uh, petit, I start out with the garlic/pine nuts/basil/s&p and get those all good and tiny.

DSC_1506

then add the other stuffDSC_1508

I make my own garlic vinegar because I had a little cool vial and everything should always be more garlicy. Ain’t it pretty? DSC_1515

 

Artichoke Heart Calzones

with your sauce all happy and made, get your dough and divide. I had seven artichoke hearts so I made 7 somewhat mini calzones.  Then I did this:

DSC_1516DSC_1519DSC_1520DSC_1521DSC_1522DSC_1523DSC_1524DSC_1525

Magical passage of time (25ish minutes at 375 degrees)

DSC_1527DSC_1528

 

YUM.

Leave a Reply

