Wide Rice Noodles with Gingery Peanut Sauce

19 Aug

There’s basically nothing better than noodles.  We bought a package of fresh wide rice noodles at Uwajimaya and half of them went to Pad See Ew, obviously, but what to do with the extra half?

My love of noodles is only rivaled by my love of peanut sauce. At Thai restaurants, I sometime get Chicken Sate with like 2 extra sides of peanut sauce. I discovered some local places make a dish called Rama Noodles which are my favorite of the Thai noodles: wide rice noodles, with my favorite of the Thai sauces: way too much peanut. Clearly I had to recreate this.

DSC_1574

Lots of people have given me peanut sauce recipes and they’ve all tasted a bit too much like edited peanut butter and not enough like actual peanut sauce. So I made this up as I went and took notes.

Wide Rice Noodles with Gingery Peanut Sauce

  • Some sort of noodles, I obviously used wide rice noodles but any sort of noodle will do. Or use the sauce for something un-noodle-related if that’s your wont.

Actual Sauce

  • 6 Tablespoons chunky peanut butter
  • 1 Tablespoon dark brown sugar
  • 3 teaspoons soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 3 Tablespoons hot water
  • 2 teaspoons green onion,, minced
  • 3 teaspoons seasoned rice vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon minced pickled ginger (or regular ginger +1 extra teaspoon of rice vinegar)
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 2 teaspoons lemon or lime juice

Things I Put In The Noodles Other Than Sauce

  • 1/2 red bell pepper, cut in long thin strips
  • 2 carrots, cut into matchsticks
  • 1/4 c thin red onion slivers
  • a dash of olive oil

What I Did

Heat up noodles to room temperature with microwave or time + a room. Otherwise wide rice noodles stick together like whoa.

Mix together all the sauce ingredients.

In a frying pan heat up desired veggies/onion etc. in a bit of olive oil, till onions are clear or veg is still firm but not totally cooked. Add sauce and noodles, mix about 5ish minutes till everything is cooked and the noodles are the perfect texture.

Eat.

DSC_1574

Leave a Reply

