Crispy Topped Honey Cornbread

22 Aug

Corn meal has been bafflingly expensive so I was happy to find that the new West Seattle Safeway in the Admiral Junction had cheap corn meal in bulk. The QFC around here has rice and some grains and nuts, but the selections at the new Safeway is definitely bigger. Random things like Chili Spiced Dried Mango. What am I ever going to do with that? NO IDEA but challenge accepted.

Anyway, I made cornbread. Yum. I was searching the internet for a good looking recipe and they just all seemed wrong so I did the only decent thing and made my mom email me hers. Thanks!

DSC_1586

A Slightly Edited Version Of My Mom’s Cornbread

  • 1 c cornmeal
  • 1 c flour
  • 4 Tablespoons sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3c canola oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 c milk

then later

  • some honey

Preheat oven to 400 degrees

Combine dry ingredients, in a separate bowl combine wet ingredients. Mix them together.

Now, my cornmeal was kind of rough, probably because it was super cheap, so I should have let it sit for a bit before baking it. But I didn’t notice. Whoops. So there were little grainy bits in my finished cornbread, totally fine, I don’t really mind it, but if you’re not a fan of that sort of thing, let the mixed dough sit for a little so the cornmeal can absorb some moisture pre-baking.

Put dough in an 8’’ pan, drizzle the top with honey, stick in the oven for 25 minutes at 400 degrees.

DSC_1585

4 Responses to “Crispy Topped Honey Cornbread”

  1. chicaandaluza August 22, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    Looks delicious – it´s good when your mum can come to the rescue!

  2. Cat August 22, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    Oh my god, I’m making cornbread later. Damn you and your delicious-looking baked goods.

Leave a Reply

