Banana Pear Honey Bread

19 Sep

DSC_1853

I’m all about this loaf pan lately. It gave me babka, it gave my banana ginger blueberry bread and now it gives me this. Yum. I sort of made this up as I went and a couple versions down the line, it’s quite excellent. Not gonna lie. I left for a week and an entire loaf ate itself in my absence so I must have done something right. It’s also really cathartic, you get to mash things, and good for lazy people like me to can NEVER get pears at the moment of perfect ripeness. They are so transient. So at least my overripe pears will no longer go to waste. Huzzah.

This is an altered version of my generic Banana Muffin recipe that makes perfectly good muffins or bread and I regularly mess with to include whatever it is I’m trying to get rid of.

Banana Pear Honey Bread

  • 2 or 3 ripe bananas (2 and it’s more like bread, 3 and its so dense it’s like shortbread/pudding with a delicious crust)
  • 2 ripe pears
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon cardamom
  • 3/4 cup chopped walnuts (optional [as if it wasn’t clear you had choice in the matter])
  • drizzle of honey

 

Preheat oven to 350.

Mash pears and bananas. YAY

DSC_1850

Add all the other ingredients minus honey. Put in loaf pan. Drizzle with honey. Look smug.

DSC_1852

Bake at 350 for an 55-65 minutes. It’s done when you stick something in it and it comes out clean. I’ve been eating mine toasted in the toaster oven for maximum side area crispiness.

Leave a Reply

